Wendywoo2

By Wendywoo2

A day of reflection and remembrance

Good friday (sorry a back blip) saw us head off to Canterbury for a couple of days away.  We were given an abrupt start to the day with our shed being broken into and my husband's bike stolen.  It was locked within a locked shed, locked to the barbecue.  They took the handle off the barbecue and carried the bike away.
After reporting this to the police and insurance company we decided we could do no more, after securing all we could.  We were determined that this disruption was not going to spoil our weekend.
We headed first to Canterbury, the place I went to university (started 20 years ago this year) to show my husband around all my old 'haunts'.  It was lovely to show him the university where I studied and all the places I went out and had fun, all those years ago.  We decided to head to the Cathedral, and it was beautiful, as I always remember.  This was the place where I had my graduation ceremony and I don't think I appreciated how lucky I was to graduate here.  The cathedral was in silence due to the significance of the day, but that made it even more special.  Just having some time to reflect and think was what I needed after a long term at school.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.