Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Tufted duck

I went to Blackford Pond today for the first time in a couple of months. The sad, solitary cygnet really depressed me last time, and I was hoping that it would have moved on by now - and it had. I spoke to a couple who had watched the male adult swan lunging repeatedly at it to chase it off the pond - so no wonder it was depressed! The swans are now nesting, apparently have been for about ten days. There were also signs of nesting with a pair of coots. I saw Canada geese for the first time on the pond - there were five of them for some reason. And there were two pairs of Greylag geese. Also a lot of tufted ducks looking very smart (as you can see here), mallards, black-headed gulls, moorhens, herring gulls, jackdaws and a partridge in a pear tree ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.