The Magic Forest

When I looked at the weather forecast a couple of days ago, today didn't show a great deal of promise. I had earmarked it for a work day, a chance to try to get ahead of the coming week. Well, that didn't quite go to plan! Not that I'm complaining. I will pay the price over the next few days but I'll survive. The day followed the same pattern as yesterday, just more magical in every respect. The temperature inversion first thing was even more spectacular, thick mist giving way to intensely clear blue skies in a matter of a couple of metres. I contrived to get to the magic forest at just the right time. I then spent the next three hours running and walking and basking in the warm sunshine, looking over the sea of fog which sat over Wharfedale. 

When the mist finally burnt off I headed home for some food and drink and enjoyed a bit of sunbathing on the balcony. But there is only so much relaxation you can do on such a beautiful day so early afternoon I set out again, this time on the bike. Expecting the legs to be hopelessly tired I had no intention of going far, but the incredibly beautiful light and gorgeous skies kept drawing me on. I found myself going up Littondale to Halton Gill and over the tops, past Penyghent and down Silverdale, before returning via Malham. Stopping frequently for pictures and simply soaking up the amazing scenery, I found myself having to pile on the pace at the end in order to get home before nightfall, which I just about managed. For the third consecutive day I finished the ride climbing Nesfield and I was quicker today after a 65 mile outing than I was on the previous two occasions. Despite all the miles I have finished stronger at the end of this Easter weekend than I felt at the start.

In almost four years of blipping this must rank as the most perfect day for photography I've experienced. I took well over 300 pictures! I haven't yet looked at most of them, but I suspect there are many, many keepers which I will want to process - at some point in time. This is one of the very first shots of the day, taken in that magical boundary layer just under the top surface of fog.  This has to be the one. It truly was a magical day.

Thank you all so much for the stars, comments and hearts for yesterday's blip. I was hoping to catch up a little bit today, but I trust you'll understand why that hasn't proved possible. I really appreciate your support. How can I find more hours in the day?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.