White Wells at the Boundary Layer

For the third consecutive day I awoke to thick mist outside the window, signalling yet another temperature inversion. Each one has been different. My internal fog alarm went off at 6.30 am, just about giving me time for a run up on the moor before getting the train into work. The mist was thicker today, but less deep, causing me to wonder if a formula has ever been worked out to understand the dynamics of this amazing climatic effect. Usually it is necessary to climb to almost 300m to get above the fog - and there have been a couple of days this winter when I've run out of hill before being able to break into clear air - but today it topped out at less than 200m, allowing for some different photo opportunities than the previous two days.

White Wells can be seen just appearing out of the mist right at the boundary layer. Like yesterday, from the choice of many photographs, this shot stood out as the one I'd least be likely to capture again. I had to be on the early train so it was all a bit against the clock, but I did still manage to enjoy that euphoric feeling when you emerge from gloominess into the light. There remains a magic about that experience which never goes away.

I don't know if everyone feels it so intensely. For me, it recalls memories of some of my most extraordinary mountain experiences. The transformation from being cold with poor visibility to suddenly feeling warm and being able to see forever is amazing. And it can happen in just a few seconds. The best ever was when I did a reccie climb of Mount Taranaki in New Zealand, before breaking the 'sea to summit to sea' record a few days later. I toiled all the way up to 2,500m before finally emerging into blue skies just a few metres from the summit. It was utterly incredible to be sitting on that tiny little island of rock in a vast ocean of fluffy cloud which stretched to the horizon in every direction. It was totally other-worldly. So this weekend perhaps I felt a vestige of the euphoria I felt that day. There are certain moments in life that impact upon your so deeply that they are destined to ever inform your future - like gettng you out of bed for a run at 6.30 am when your whole body is already wrecked!

I'm lost for words again in response to the feedback to yesterday's blip. I knew it was a bit special but even so ... Thank you all so very much. It's been a difficult day at work, suffering from a lack of preparation, but your wonderful comments and all those hearts have carried me through the day. You're great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.