CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Nesting swans on the canal by Ebley Mill

We have had a beautiful and sunny day to share with our visitors, Eileen and Kirsty.  I had to go to Ebley Mill where the District council offices are sited on the banks of the river Frome and beside the newly rebuilt Stroudwater canal.  I needed to submit my nomination forms for the coming parish council elections and I had made a minor error so had to return there to add a few words, which I duly accomplished.

Earlier I'd taken Helena, Eileen and Kirsty up to Woodchester Mansion but couldn't join them on the walk as my joints are creaking again.  So after revisiting Ebley Mill I walked beside the adjacent canal and watched the birds and people enjoying the weather and the newly cleared waterway.  At a point on the canal where an overflow system into the river Frome has been built to contain any flood problems, I saw that the pair of swans have nested again.  

This scene looks tranquil but there was endless bombing by gulls diving down into the water in search of food.  The swan swimming wasn't at all perturbed, and after being buzzed by seven gulls it swam back across the water towards its mate and just floated there in apparent harmony.  I wish them well.  I am told they are very good at raising their young and last year had four surviving cygnets who they have obviously shooed away in time for another brood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.