CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Bee feeding by the hellebore

As the light began to fall this evening I decided to try to record the hellebore flowers that are beginning to fade and become ragged.  They have been flowering continuously for several months so I have no complaints, except that I haven't got a good picture of them.  I did blip them when one flower first opened in mid winter but the array of multiple flowers has looked wonderful.

But once I was ready to photograph, I saw that the bees were out buzzing around these pink and blue weed flowers whose name I don't know.  I tried tried to get some pictures of them flying between the flowers but that was nigh in impossible given their rather random flight patterns and the depth of fields I had to work with.

I am sure I will get better pictures of them but this will be a good reminder of the warmth we are having in this late spring.  I expect we will be back to cooler conditions quite soon.  But at least there is still light at 8pm.  There is a creamy coloured hellebore petal in the background to save the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.