Buzzard flying above my study

I was pottering about this morning in my study when the phone rang and I then had a long chat with Camilla.  As we spoke I was looking from my desk out of the window across the valley when I saw four buzzards rising in circles on thermal currents at about my level but further down the valley.

After we had finished talking I carried on working at my desk in a rather buoyant mood.  I had just told Camilla that I had checked that my nomination for the parish council elections had been registered on the local District Council website, as they were due to be published early this morning.  The good news was that in my ward there are three seats, and as only the three incumbents had registered their nominations, one of whom was me, it meant that we have been elected unopposed, even thought the election proper won't be held until General Election day on 7th May 2015. So I don't have to campaign, or even produce any publicity material, and can sit back knowing a year ahead on the town council is now certain.

A little later I looked out of the window again and spotted this buzzard much closer to our house and flying nearly overhead.  I grabbed my camera which was on my desk and only had time to take a few pictures without changing any settings.  So I was lucky to get anything, but I wish I had been a few seconds quicker as it qwas already spiralling up and away from me at a fast rate.  I always hope to spot the buzzards when they are just at tree top height, but it rarely happens, and usually when the camera is somewhere else.  But I must admit that we are lucky to see such wonderful sights so close to home, literally about thirty yards away. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.