A Blue tit collecting cat hair for its nest

I awoke early and bomble wanted me to get up to feed him, so I obliged. Instead of returning to bed with a cup of tea, I sat by the rear door which I opened despite the frosty air, and listened to the bird songs. The light was gorgeous with white reflections on the roof off the frost. Spring is definitely in the air, smelling fresh and sounding sweet when so many birds fill the air with their chatter.

I watched the nuthatches coming to the feeders, as well as bullfinches, robins, blackbirds and chaffinches flying to and fro, all in search of food. I stepped down to the cabin to refill the sunflower seed feeders and while there noticed this blue tit slowly selecting strands of cat hair and gradually filling its beak. Our next door neighbour J. always provides the birds with this supply of nesting material from the combing of her three cats. It isn't often that I see birds actually helping themselves to it, so I was pleased to get this shot. I rather like the oval shape that has formed in the hair hanging from its mouth.

The rest of the day has proceeded with a combination of the big planning issues campaign and some computer help of a colleague. Then Hugh turned up with the final version of the map for the project so we can now circulate the 'vision'. Helena arrived safely in Crete and probably has been to the beach, as she said she could hear the sound of the sea from her hotel room. I am very envious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.