CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Chelsea and Ed with bubbles at Gloucester docks

I didn't get home till after 11pm last night following a long meeting and a swift pint with a couple of colleagues. I then didn't get to sleep till far too late and Bomble woke me at the usual time. So my morning started and continued at a slow pace. Luckily I didn't have too much on, so sat in the sun with the jigsaw, some coffee and Radio6 Music.

Helena is preparing for her trip and she flies from Gatwick to Crete tomorrow, which is very exciting for her. I rather wish I was going somewhere warm, but this will be a girl's trip! I wanted to stock up with some supplies from the Chinese emporium as well as the cheap wine and cheese from Lidl. Helena wanted some bits that could only come from a supermarket, so whilst in Gloucester I drove the short distance to a very large Sainsburys built on the west side of the canal on the edge of the old Gloucester Docks.

I pottered about with my camera after finishing the shopping, walking along the quayside. I pointed my camera at some fishermen, various gulls and runners on the towpath. I walked towards the large modern swing bridge, which was recently built to allow the big boats access to the main docks from the Sharpness canal. As I passed underneath I was surprised by a huge detergent bubble which passed in front of me at head height, carried on the stiff breeze.

I followed a few more smaller bubbles back to their source, which turned out to be Ed and Chelsea, who were photographing each other in turn with the bubbles they were forming using equipment they'd just bought in the nearby toy shop. I asked if they minded me joining them, which they didn't, and I explained about Blipfoto, so maybe they will join up as well. They are both studying art in different colleges and having fun while they can. I was very grateful to them for letting me join in. Then it was time to go home and see Helena.

I have added a few more pictures to this Flickr gallery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.