Common Grackle

 I was much closer to this grackle today when I got its' picture than I was the last time, when I took the one of it sitting on top of the power lines. This shows off its' color much better. 
The grackles enjoy eating off the ground, & I thought our neighbor was purposely spreading birdseed all over the grass for the birds to chow down on, but today I found out that wasn't the case.  I stood & watched as 2 sparrows landed on opposite sides of his hanging feeder, & they appeared to take turns  flapping their wings, which  caused the feeder to swing back & forth. As they gained momentum it caused the birdseed to spill out all over the ground. As soon as it started falling out at least 8 birds came to eat--Mr. Grackle was one of them! 
Very clever sparrows!!   :)
An update: Our Badgers lost last night to Dukes' Blue Devils--so very disappointing, as they led by 9 points at one time--but they played valiantly & we're proud of them!   :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.