Hot Springs Galore

Thank you so very much for your kind words, stars and hearts for my birthday blip.
You guys are Ace!


After yesterday's excitement and travel, I was very happy to have a rather lazy day. I had been traveling since last Wednesday and it just felt like it was about time to slow down.

I did eventually leave the hotel around 3:30 pm and found my way to the Dogo Onsen, my main reason for coming to Matsuyama. Having never been to an onsen (hot springs) in Japan before, the whole shebang was an experience and a half! I won't go into great detail but suffice it to say I briefly chatted with two young Japanese American women who had excellent Japanese and they were more confused at the right order to do things than I was. I'm glad I did it but it really had a Lost in Translation feel... In the flickr set there's a very sneaky pic of me in another yukata taken next to a No Photography sign. Naturally, dear reader, I bought a yukata to bring home.

Afterwards I wandered around the temples and park nearby and saw (and heard) what may be the last of the Sakura parties where people eat, drink and generally be merry under the cherry blossoms. I found a quiet spot and gave thanks that some blossoms were still on the trees for me.

Another noteworthy event - I finally plucked up the courage to ask for a portrait (blipped). They were so beautiful I couldn't resist. I think they thought I was asking them to take my photo and seemed surprised when I lift the camera to my eye but they gamely played along. Aren't they a beautiful young family?

More over on flickr...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.