Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

The Mysterious Hole in the Ice

Dear Diary,

I stop nearly every day now to see what is happening at the pond.  The other day I was thrilled by a pronounced crack...now it is a mysterious hole.  It wasn't very far from the shore and it had no foot prints going to it.  It was about 4 feet long.

It couldn't be ice fishing since there were no foot prints and besides, they never fish so close to the shore...too shallow.  But the ice was truly broken away since when I threw a stone into it it made a familiar "plop" sound.  Perhaps someone had done just that, thrown large stones to break a hole to check the thickness of the ice.  I looked around and saw the indentations in the sand where larger stones had been.  Mystery solved!

I returned to the car a bit disappointed.  I think I preferred the mystery to the understanding.  Mysterys are more fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.