Droning on

A friend phoned this morning and asked if I would like him to bring his 'drone', or UAV, along later in the afternoon, to try for some good aerial pictures. I'd always wanted to see one in action, so I agreed. Unfortunately it couldn't pick up enough satellite signals due to all the surrounding trees so he had to fly it by the seat of his pants phone. I hope to get some pictures of this magnolia - the one I used as a Blip a couple of days ago.

Normally if it flies out of range it will automatically turn round, fly back and land safely! What did we do when we were kids? 'Play with clockwork trains' is the answer!

The most basic model, non-GPS, is £40 and that needs very calm conditions, but it will still take good quality photographs. Going online later!

I'm looking forward to seeing some of the pictures - he had it set to 'stills' and it was taking one every three seconds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.