Give blood

I spent most of the day at the Gateshead office, so I thought I was going to blip either some more abseiling window-cleaners or their ISIS van at the back of the Sage - but then I remembered the blood donation session that was going on in Leith and went there straight from the station. Turned out that the long sleeves of the top I was wearing have sufficiently elasticated cuffs to form a light tourniquet when rolled up, so they asked me to swap it for one of their T-shirts - which I was allowed to keep! So although it cost me nearly an armful, I got a T-shirt as well as the customary Tunnocks T-cake this time. Result!

Mr H (having bled earlier on) came and met me and we walked slowly back home with our neighbour John, who'd been lying on an adjoining gurney. Then we had a delicious meal, full of iron and other handy nutrients, which seems to have made most of my remaining blood head for the stomach for digestive duties.  An early night seems like a plan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.