billy_green

By billy_green

Ilford Harriers

I started running with 'Ilford Athletics club' about 7 years ago as a Harrier.


This is the clubs 'beginner and improver' group that meet on Wednesday nights.
In Summer we run 5k around Valentines Park, in the winter 5k around the streets.
When I started I struggled to run a mile - I have now done 3 marathons!!

I kept going to Harriers though, to try and help people who are where I was when I started.
A year or so ago I took a coaching course, and when Robin (the guy with the green hat in the photo) became too ill to run anymore I took over the role of running the Wednesday night group. 
So in 7 years I have gone from the absolute beginner to the guy that runs (excuse the pun) the group.
Tonight was the first proper night back in the park after a long winter.
Robin came along to record times and I managed to get everyone around without stopping :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.