Greyness

The whole day has been grey with heavy cloud cover. Often raining. Again, I didn't run this morning, and took a short run this evening. 

The low light made getting sharp photos to permit bird identification impossible. But I tried! What made me try was the intermittent flight past me as I ran along the Coastal Walkway, of groups of perhaps 20 birds which appeared to me to be flying too fast and in too much of a group to be "just" red-billed gulls. Far too small to be black-backs (kelp gulls). Wrong tail formation for a tern, and anyway (although small) bigger than a white tern (I would guess).

One of the photos I took was able to be enlarged enough (by which stage it was grainy and blurred) for me to think that these may have been groups of black-billed gulls. 

After pondering, looking, comparing, and thinking, I resolved to post this photo (which is a colour photo), with a little adjustment which has picked out the birds' heads from the overwhelming greyness. 

The silver lining, perhaps

S comes from Auckland tomorrow, and that will be great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.