Hawthorn Bonsai 120cm high!

Not sure if this Hawthorn tree qualifies as a Bonsai - the largest I've seen advertised see by clicking HERE is 80 cm high and is 25 years old.  Mine has developed by chance.  It's about 20 years old and I grew it from a stray berry.  I also grew one indoors which grew to 6 inches but died at about 20 years of age last year. The outdoor Hawthorn got battered by gales when it was young and developed a shape that I have kept and pruned it so it never grew high but have never touched the roots. I am very attached to it and last year was the first year it produced blossoms. I hope it does this year so I can get a nice blip when the time comes.


Lovely sunny day and quite warm. Spent a lot of time chasing a peacock butterfly but it was too energetic for me to capture anything but blurred blips. This tree stood still! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.