My Favourite Place

I haven't been far today (apart from a food shop this morning) but on my way to do a task for Lady Marian, I noticed that the pond was gummed up with duckweed so I thought I'd tackle that job. It's not a very big pond and there's nothing much in it except a few newts. We were going to empty it out a few years ago but we found a goldfish in there which must have lived there since the previous owners of the house. We found the goldfish floating on the top a couple of years back but I did see one of the newts today. He was unceremoniously scooped out with a few old leaves. I didn't notice until I picked them up to dispose of them and quickly plopped him back in.

I like it because it gives the birds an alternative drinking and splashing place and it looks great this time of year with the primroses and daffodils around it. Froggy just sits watching all that happens with that smug look of enjoyment on his face. That's alright with me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.