Sun's out....

It was a long, busy day at work today. One of the bigwigs is coming tomorrow for a social call. By 'social call' read inspection.

After work I had to drive over to Hulme to see one of the pupils I tutor. He's a new guy, a personable 15 year old called Isaac, who's doing some public exams in a few weeks time. They've discovered that he's not expected to do as well as they would like so I've been called in to wave a magic wand. Quite what they expect in the little time we have left is beyond me. But he's a bright lad who listens and laughs a lot so it's not a chore. I could be sat with some sulky adolescent. We talk about poetry, 'Of Mice and Men' and 'An Inspector Calls.'

Today he told me his exam strategy. He got it from a Year 7 boy (12 years old in the UK) in his swimming club. The idea is you read your revision notes on a particular subject while eating a particular flavour of Starburst candy (other candies can be substituted). Once in the actual exam you eat the same flavoured candy and all the relevant information comes flooding back. Well good luck with that Isaac. In the meantime I'll be having your nose to the grindstone preparing answer essays to possible questions.

After that I had a choice. Sit in the traffic for a hour or drive over to my favourite Chorlton bar, ODDEST, for a hour and drive home when it's quieter. Guess what I decided to do?

It's been a warm, sunny day and everyone else had had the same idea. The terrace was busy with people enjoying the evening sun. The hipster staff were in shorts as were a lot of the patrons including myself. There was reggae music. I ordered wine and , after catching the delicious smells coming from the table next to mine, ordered fish and chips. I phoned home to cancel the main course. But I will be having some pudding....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.