Calla Lily

I had some of these in my garden before I moved back to Cambridgeshire, these are staying indoors where they can come to less harm!

I meant to take the big girl's camera to work to capture Mum's lovely little violets but forgot it.

I almost had baby news for you but it turned out to be a false alarm but, in my health news, I had a brilliant chat with the doctor this afternoon.

Not brilliant in a 'he thinks he can cure me' type way but in a 'he doesn't think I'm barmy for thinking all my different symptoms are connected somehow' type way..

He'd been and got the steroid ready for my carpal tunnel injection but I told him I was sure that wasn't it; I still have no pain just pins and needles similar to those I get in my feet during a dizzy migraine (or whatever it is!)

Give him his due he did his best to make it hurt by pressing on the nerve in various places up my arm and in my neck but there was no change just the same what I call fizzyness. 

He scratched his head, scrolled through my notes, shook his head, took his glasses off, put them back on again and "hmm"d.

I offered to put forward a suggestion. He said he had noticed I was clutching a piece of paper but thought it may be a shopping list for later!

I gave him my list of symptoms, told him that some were made easier with one of my medicines but the other one just seemed to make me more tired all the time. I admitted this led me to believe it wasn't actually helping at all but if I missed a dose I soon knew about it the next morning. 

He started typing notes..."constellation of symptoms including joint pain, nerve issues, balance issues, sensory issues, cognitive issues...possibly Fibromyalgia?? Replace XXXX with XXXX" and asked me to wean myself off my morning medicine and start a different one. They are in the same family of drugs but he thinks the new one will give me some relief from the pins & needles and memory loss particularly.

It may be a step backwards, it may only be a step sideways, but, it may be a step forwards so worth a try I reckon! :) 

Migraine isn't off the table in any way but is a symptom of Fibromyalgia apparently. Every day's a school day and it's increasingly looking like whatever this is I'm stuck with it and we keep on working to find the right combination of sedative/painkiller/anti-anxiety treatments to give the best results. 

How was your Thursday? :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.