Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Allium

It's a quick blip today as it has been work all day and out all evening. "Every day is a school day," my young colleague often says when I share a new piece of knowledge in general conversation. She makes me feel old when I explain what the hand drill is, she never having seen anything other than a power one. Today it was my turn to extend my knowledge of flowers which is woefully lacking and does not extend much beyond the identification of daffodils and tulips (you have to recognise them on the fens!). This, then, is an allium and it seems pretty impressive to me standing like a soldier on its metre long stalk. The milk churn has been retired but I am old enough to remember these being picked up each morning by the milk lorry, before the advent of the milk tanker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.