Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Blue at the Bistro

It took several days after our return for the blue jays to find the Bistro and they are still very skittish when I venture out with the camera.  But, patience pays off...after I "baited" the bistro with whole peanuts, eventually one of the jays ventured onto the cherry tree, sizing up the risks involved in coming closer to get the peanuts.  After getting my shot, I went back inside to let him steal peanuts eat in peace.  

And while the jays may still be a little timid, the squirrels suffer from no such shyness - little buggers are into everything!  I had to run out and get a "squirrel proof" feeder today ... we'll see how well that works.  The backyard is buzzing with birds now, including several cute little chipping sparrows, one of our summer sparrows, just recently arrived from their wintering grounds.  

I ran into town this morning to take care of some banking and to stop in at the County Chamber of Commerce to say hello to the president, who's a good friend.  Ran some other errands then back home to finish unpacking the LAST of the boxes in the bedrooms.  I still have 3 boxes in the living room to unpack, but can't do that until Hubs connects the wall unit this weekend.  

It was dreary and cold today - I'm missing Florida's sunshine right now!  But, tomorrow our temps are supposed to warm up a bit and I hope to get out in between rain showers.  And, Saturday morning is the first spring Audubon walk with all my naturalist friends!  

Reheating the split pea soup for tonight's dinner ...with some nice bread and a salad.  Keeping things easy right now.  I'm still feeling pretty fatigued from the move.  I think I was pushing so hard during the weeks leading up to the move that my body is now retaliating.  I've been feeling exhausted for the past few days and can't seem to get enough sleep. Time will fix this, of course.  

Happy Thursday...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.