Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A kiss in the snow...

Do you know how many times I've missed getting this shot?  Every spring the cardinals re-establish their pair-bonds with the male feeding the female little morsels of food.  As best as I can tell, this behavior doesn't go on for very long before they get down to the serious business of mating.  And I can tell you, with a certainty, that the passing off of the morsel takes mere seconds- always too quick for me to grab a camera and get a shot.  In fact, today alone, I missed 3 opportunities of capturing this behavior on camera.  Until...I managed to grab this shot while hanging out of the upstairs bedroom window during a heavy snow flurry.  Not a very good photo, unfortunately, but its the one I want for today's Blip.  

Although the snow was coming down fast and heavy for several hours, none of it stuck to any of the surfaces.  However, tonight the temps are going to go into the 20's again, so all those wet surfaces will freeze into slippery sheets of ice.  Yuck.  

I don't think I've mentioned that the Tinies have a tiny dog.  And today the Tiny Dog got loose...narrowly avoiding total disaster, I might add.  See for yourself in Extras... A second after I snapped this, Charlie tried to eat Tiny Dog.  Only a rapid response from yours truly saved the day...

I posted a few more shots on Flickr - three starting here with an annoyed robin.  I also watched the same squirrel who I blipped several weeks ago relocating her babies - today she was bringing new nesting material into the nest.  She also scared the bejeezus out of a woodpecker who was foraging around in the bark and got too near her nest hole.  I am always entertained by the things that go on out there in the great outdoors.  

The bluebirds were back for a short time this morning, but no work was done on the nest box - apparently the weather wasn't to their liking.  

Counting down to FL...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.