The Way I See Things

By JDO

Misty sunrise

I walked into my study this morning, glanced out of the window and thought "What the...??"

In fifteen years of living here, I have never seen the sun rise over our neighbour's farm before - it always crests the hill further south than this. I was genuinely bemused - it felt as though the world had somehow tilted slightly on its axis, and I'd only just noticed. CH has of course pointed out that I usually only see the sunrise in winter - but still.... fifteen years.... it's definitely odd!

I spent most of the day in the garden, and I've now made demonstrable progress with weeding and edging the rose bed. I also moved a hellebore from there to the pear tree bed, to make room for the hydrangea 'Zorro' which I bought at the end of last summer and overwintered in a pot. The hellebore is a self-seed from this one, so I hope it takes - it's late to be moving it, so I'll need to check regularly that it isn't drying out.

This evening CH moved several barrow loads of stone from the uncleared side of the pear tree bed so that I can start to work on it properly. I'm going to need more plants...

Late in the afternoon I walked round the garden with the camera, trying a few shots, and managed to get a few photos of the bees that were skittering around the flowering currant bush. I thought I'd be blipping one of these - but in the end the weird sunrise won out. After all, it's not every day that the world shifts on its axis!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.