Spanish Plume - Moths

The warm weather from the south, know as The Spanish Plume, reached Essex a bit later than other parts of the country. Looks like it might be on its way out as the afternoon here was dull.

I haven't visited nature reserves this week as I like them quiet and the children are on holiday. Plenty for me to see on my own property. My dog and I went bug hunting after lunch. We spotted a lovely plume moth but I didn't manage to capture it. I was delighted to see it again and get a pic. It was Amblyptilla acanthadactyla, otherwise known as The Beautiful Plume. :)

Shortly after togging this I found an Angle Shades moth at ground level on a nettle. I nudged it gently with my finger in the hope of getting it to change position so that I could get its lovely markings in focus. It climbed onto my finger and then flew to the wing mirror of my car. I love how my pinky top is reflected in the mirror and tones with the dusky hues of the moth.

I have photographed an Angle Shades once before years ago only yards from where I shot today's. Fascinating how these insect tribes have their tight little habitats. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.