He Who Shall Hurt The Little Wren ....

.... Shall never be belovd by Men.

The day dawned beautifully sunny and I was up early as I had a visit to Lodge Farm planned in the hope of seeing the hares again. I had just loaded my gear into the car and had put my camera on the front seat, with settings sorted in case the hares were close, so that I could use the car as a hide.

This wren started singing from the top of Mr and Mrs Blackie's fence, catching the gorgeous morning rays. These birds are usually described as brown and mouse-like.  I thought at first that it wasn't worth trying to photograph him but he continued singing so forcefully and loudly and looked like a shining orb, so I changed my mind.  A wren sings ten times louder weight for weight than a cockerel. He persisted while I retrieved the camera out of the car and got a few shots.

My title is from William Blake's Auguries of Innocence. In his time many thought him insane but he was just different. He had the ability to see huge metaphors and visions hidden in little everyday things.

   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.