Raining on their parade

An unexpected early finish enabled me to explore a little more of this crazy city before my train home.

Meiji shrine lived up to its reputation of being tranquil and serene until the wedding party turned up with a parade of hundreds of guests and priests.  The rain didn't deter them or the tourists.

As the rain grew heavier I abandoned plans to explore Yoyogi Park and headed first to Harajuku followed by Shibuya for some people watching and retail therapy.

After a few well chosen purchases and a manicure I just made my train. Relaxing with a glass of wine, I reflected on how much I prefer living in the provinces rather than the big city, despite the availability of Amazonian sized clothes and shoes and a big increase in the amount of English used.

Tokyo is also a city where the sheer number of people to stare at can be exhilarating.
Donald Ritchie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.