Straight Lines, Millbrook Marsh

The fact that it was raining on this morning did not deter me from visiting Millbrook Marsh to see how it had fared in the recent heavy rains. I found the run a bit high, but not at flood stage like it was that time last May, when it seemed like the wooden walkway was merely floating on top of the waters.

It was drizzling but not overly foggy. I grabbed my umbrella and my camera, and took a quick walk along the stream. I enjoyed the sight of bare ground without snow, and noticed that little green things are starting to appear everywhere.

On the way back out to my car, I stopped to photograph the lines of several of the buildings. I had noted on my way in that the buildings were streaky from the rain; with lighter and darker patches, they were looking very textured. And then I couldn't help myself. I started playing with the textures and the lines, and what a good time I had.

Since this is a photo that is all about lines, here is a song that is all about lines too. It's a kitschy little mid-80s tune by The Nails, called 88 Lines About 44 Women.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.