Skytop Farm Pond in Mist

April showers, as they say, bring May flowers. And with this week's several days of rainy, drizzly weather, little green things are starting to pop out everywhere. So it's happening, just as they said! The spring we thought might never arrive is finally here.

I love a good misty morning, and so I made a couple of quick stops on my drive in to work. But they were ultra-speedy stops, as once again, I had meetings beginning quite early; on this day, they began with breakfast at the Nittany Lion Inn.

Featured in this photo is the little pond at Skytop Farm. I pulled off the road for five minutes and snagged a few shots. I liked the way the still water captured reflections of the tree shapes in the mist, while on the shore, the big green turtle kept watch over all.

I've driven by this pond often, but have stopped only occasionally. I've featured it on these pages before - once on a blue morning, when the sky and water were the texture of Damask silk, once to admire the skywater, and that one time to document the appearance there of a great blue heron (one of my many photographic quests).

My usual schedule for uploading photos to this blog is to post the image for each day on the morning of the next day. So I can tell you but not show you this unexpected bonus: upon driving by the pond this morning, what did I spy but a white egret fishing for its breakfast by the big green turtle on the pond!

The song to accompany this image is a piano composition by someone whose work I have just become familiar with. His name is Brian Crain, and the song is Reflecting Pool. It is from his album Piano and Light (which I was able to find in its entirety here). Really lovely stuff; very peaceful; have a listen. (P.S. His work may sound familiar; if you saw the video  of Lil' Drac the orphaned fruit bat rescued by Bat World Sanctuary, it is Brian's gorgeous song White Horse playing in the background.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.