Whiteout

We got about three inches of snow overnight, and I awoke to a winter wonderland. It was a strange day. It would snow heavily, then it would melt some, and everything would begin to drip. Then we'd get a whiteout, with snow pelting down from the sky at alarming speeds, and the ground would be covered again. By day's end, it was all gone. It might have been what the experts call an onion snow.

I went out early with my camera because I suspected it wouldn't last, and this was my view, as I walked a few minutes down the road in front of our house. There's a development in the background, but you can't see it because of the whiteout conditions. That little dark spot near the ground, to the right of the one smaller tree, is a bird that took this inopportune moment to try to fly.

We didn't have anywhere we had to be, and so we enjoyed a day at home, staying mostly snug inside. I lit the two little Christmas trees, which are still up - because it's still snowing! - and they sparkled and shone. It may have been snowing outside, but inside, it was quite cozy and festive indeed.

The snow had many people complaining that - Here we go again with winter, when we thought spring had come. So the tune to accompany this snowy image is Whitesnake, with Here I Go Again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.