BEA

I just can't seem to keep away from airports!  

There weren't many blip opportunities today.  This morning I really had to put my head down and deal with my ever-growing and never-ending pile of paperwork.  This afternoon Dolly had an appointment at the 'hairdressers' so while she was there I ran errands and did a bit of shopping around Reading.  Thankfully it was a warm sunny day so I was able to drive around with the top down on the car - LOVE my convertible!

After I picked Dolly up we went for a short walk near the Museum of Berkshire Aviation.  This is at the historic site of the Woodley Airfield, near Reading - once the centre of a thriving aircraft industry. 

Sadly, I have never visited the inside of the museum as it has very restricted opening hours.  I really must remedy that.  There are two planes to see outside - this one is from what was the British European Airways (BEA) which operated from 1946 - 1974 when it merged with British Overseas Airways Corporation (BOAC) to form British Airways. 

The aircraft is a Handley Page Herald and apparently was designed here on this site in Woodley.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.