All done . . .

My work here is done! Dad and I have had a lovely time in the garden over the last few days. It's been fun sorting out the greenhouse, tidying the garden and weeding and planting.

Dad's role has been mostly supervisory - but he has been doing as much as he could. Most of the laughter has been when he has been kneeling down to weed and then fallen over. That sounds cruel but we were both laughing! Sadly he is used to falling over. He had a stroke 12 years ago and has been getting more and more weak and unsteady as the years go by.

Today I mowed the lawn and cleared the pond of as much weed as I could. It really needs the pump on and the water aerated a bit, but the pond is thick with tadpoles. Last year the same thing happened, they put the pump on and it resulted in a lot of minced taddies. Not this year - hopefully they will all grow into happy little frogs!

So happy to be going home tomorrow, overjoyed in fact! I am very homesick and missing Mike and Ollie so much, but it is heart breaking to leave Dad and worrying that it might be the last time I see him. It is the same every time I leave . . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.