pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Notting Hill

A false start to our day when Jon's car developed a problem which has resulted in it needing some expensive work. Oh well, can't win them all with cars!

On the plus side, it meant Jon could drop me at the station instead of me getting the bus or cycling!

So off I went! At Liverpool Street I got the tube to Notting Hill where I met my friends Glenys & Karen who I was at college with in Chester in 1984-86. My clever friends went on to get their degrees but for one reason or another I dropped out. Anyway, I've always been included in the post Uni get togethers; we had such a good time in Chester and I think most of those of you who went on to higher education will agree that those bonds you make are special.

We spent the day in Notting Hill, trawled the amazing market stalls in Portabello Road, & spent a bit of money! I got some amazing new tights and a scarf. All for myself :-) There was also the obligatory lunch in 'Mikes' - Karen was particularly taken with it. It was exceedingly good food. We chatted non stop & as we all now approach 50 in the next 12 months, we discussed things we would like to achieve in that time. Karen has quite a challenging list already! I need to start mine.

We parted promising to do it all again in the Autumn. Hoping next time to be joined by Helen, Jane, Lisa & Michele.

Rebelliously I got an earlier train back, even though my ticket was strictly for the 7.28.

Jon was waiting for me at the other end, after having driven to Coventry & back. Dan is now settled back at Uni. Henry was collected by his grandparents end route to Norfolk & Mollie is in Cambridge. This is how it will be now, until the end of July.

Tomorrow I head back 'home' to be with Henry, & to prepare for Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.