Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Common Grackles...

... having a bit of a territorial dispute. This was just one of the interesting things that happened on my walk this morning. I was alone, because the husband's knee has been bothering him, which is a good thing since it means I can stop and gaze at things without eye rolling and harumphing. The walk started out with an American Kestrel - a rare thing for me to see, although I'm given to understand that our neighbor with the farm sees a pair regularly at her place - progressed to several loudly singing Eastern Meadowlarks; a Starling bearing nesting material; Yellow-bellied Sliders (aquatic turtles) sunning themselves on a log in the neighbor's farm pond; Bluebirds; Chipping Sparrows; the song - but not sight - of a couple of Field Sparrows; a Gray Squirrel peeking out of its nest; and then this pair of Common Grackles having a serious disagreement. I didn't get a very good shot of it, but it was quite entertaining to watch! Some more of what I saw on my walk is here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.