At risk

Kawau tuawhenua

The threatened rain had not arrived by this morning, although the sky suggested it would come (and it has). I waited until there was a reasonable amount of light before heading out, initially westward along the Coastal Walkway where I saw this Kawau tuawhenua. I managed to get reasonably close, and I was using the longest of my lenses. Very pleased with the shot.
This is the large shag of NZ’s inland waterways, as well as being seen on the coast. It is described as being at risk, because (although still common) it is persecuted by fishing enthusiasts. It is not fully protected by our conservation laws, one of the few native or endemic species not so protected.
It is widespread throughout NZ, and breeds in both main islands as well as Stewart Island (Rakiura) and the Chatham Islands. Kawau tuawhenua is a colonial nester, and the nests are a loos collection of twigs (with a small unlined cup) in a tree or bush or in abandoned buildings.
The name Kawau tuawhenua means the shag (kawau) of the interior (tuawhenua). It is commonly known in NZ as the Black Shag (or Large Black Shag). The worldwide extent of the species leads to Scofield and Stephenson preferring the name Great Cormorant.
Not much further west, I turned inland and came back via a service station where I stopped for the Sunday paper. To enjoy over muesli and coffee.
Since breakfast I have been doing the required reading for the coming meeting. Taking a short break to post this.

Thank you to everyone who has been so positive about my photo from yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.