The second half of life..

By twigs

Fantail

Another fantail frenzy around the house today.  Maybe they were as excited as I was to see the sunshine?!  Once again, one flew into the shed, though his visit was very short-lived.  He worried me though when he then flew up the garden towards the house then straight in to the house where 2 cats were reaxing in the living room.......

I dropped what I was doing (metaphorically, not literally, which was good as I was hanging washing out!) and followed him indoors.  A quick check in the living area told me he wasn't there and the cats were oblivious to the visitor.  Whew!  I found him in the bathroom where he was trying to fly out through the closed window :(   As I was coaxing him towards another window which I'd opened, I saw another fantail who was flitting about just outside the window.  I guess he must have heard the anguished chirps from #1 and maybe had come to help in some way....?  The trapped bird took just a few more seconds to find the opened window then fly out and into a tree where he and his mate rested for a few seconds - long enough for me to snap this pic.

Maori folklore suggests that a fantail in the house is a messenger.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.