Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

An Eclectic Read

Had a bit of a sort out in cupboards and drawers in the house this morning as part of our usual Sunday morning house cleaning routine..

We bought some of these books at auction a while ago...working from the bottom up...an incredibly beautifully illustrated book of Japanese erotica...very explicit...followed by a book of Chinese erotica...also explicit but a little less beautifully drawn.  Both have sat in a drawer hidden away since we bought them but they are amazing books...and of their time.
The next book in the stack is a bit of an enigma..it is a book which seems to be about Polish textiles and was published in 1959...it came from the auction with a black and white postcard from Gdansk sent with the book to a lady the sender refers to as Mrs. Anne.  The photo on the postcard looks from the 1960's and the book is covered with a sample of the textiles it describes.
The book on the top of the stack is an old print of the John Buchan novel, the Greenmantle, we bought this at the John Buchan Museum in Peebles.
Although I now read books on my iPad, it's just not the same as holding a real book in your hands and I just love old books...
The glasses on the very top are vintage (circa 1970's) and belonged to my late Mother, I have many photos of her wearing them and I just love them...I do need to get my prescription into them as sunglasses as they would look very retro...

A brilliant afternoon spent at the cinema watching the "Woman in Gold" film with Helen Mirren.  I didn't know this story and hadn't realised that this iconic Klimt painting was actually in New York and arrived there the year before we were there, I would have loved to have seen it.  We saw other famous Klimt works in Vienna last year...absolutely incredible...and I had no idea at the time that many and been taken by the Nazis.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.