The Channel through the Rocks

10.9C with sunny spells. Wind to 20 mph with gusts to 31 mph.

Our very elderly central heating boiler decided to break down yesterday afternoon less than 24 hours after I booked the appointment for its annual service. It didn't come on at 6pm when it should have and I couldn't get the pilot light relit despite several attempts. So after grocery shopping this morning we waited in for the repair man to call. He came in the early afternoon (when I was watching the F1 ... well done Lewis !) and after a while declared that parts would have to be ordered and he would come back tomorrow to fit them and try to light it then. Fingers crossed.

So now, after putting it off too long, there will have to be an estimate for a new boiler. Then the installation of a new boiler which I will want in the same place as the current one and not in the loft space which seems to be the current fashion. I hate (and oh boy do I mean hate hate hate with a vitriolic intensity !) workmen in the house (the main reason for procrastination on a new boiler) at the best of times, never mind letting one into the loft on his own at boiler service time. I asked the repair man how long it might take to install a new boiler. He said maybe 2 days. I said that I thought that was 1.9 days too long. He gave me the advert/voucher with 20% off. When I read the details I noticed that this is 20% off the price of a new boiler ... not 20% off the boiler, parts, and installation !

Once the repair man left Apothecary7 and I took Maeve the Deerhound for a walk. We went down to the beach at Westhaven, and out on the wet hard sand in the channel through the rocks I took some shots of the general cargo vessel Liva Greta (Latvia) anchored offshore.

DMC-LX7 f/2.8 1/2000 sec. ISO-80 7mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.