One Day Like This...

By LicentiousLib

Hurtica Urtica

I was in Kinneil Woods today, collecting Oak leaves.
Another wonderful sunny, peaceful day.
Listening to the birds, (not having a clue what they are), being aware of the local steam train puffing its way past every so often.

The Oak trees aren't in leaf yet, so I've been rummaging through the undergrowth looking for fallen leaves.
It was easier a couple of weeks ago, the new growth hadn't started, but now, with the warm weather, things are burgeoning with new growth.

Just like the small green toothed-leaved things you can see in the bottom left of my picture.
My delicate fingertips found then.

Yes, they're nettles (Urtica dioica)
Ouch.

(Oh - and I've found a great app called "Chirpomatic" which is a kind of "Shazam" for bird calls)
:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.