Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A finchy kind of day

Today was just want you want in a spring day in the northeast - blue skies, bright sun and temps in the sixties (F).  In a word - perfect. 

After chatting with my folks (always a great start to the day), I headed out to the garden with my trimmers and got to work.  I snipped back all of last year's spent seed heads and stalks and fussed around as you do in the garden.  The only unfortunate discovery I made was a dead mourning dove - it had no visible signs of injury and appeared not to have been there long.  I think that the small hawk who flushed a bunch of sparrows and doves in the garden earlier probably sent the dove careening right into the stone wall.  Anyway, I take consolation that it was most likely killed instantly. No fancy burials - I simply put it's body in the woods where it will no doubt sustain some other creature/s.  

Today's photo is nothing really special but it will serve to remind me of the bounty of finches in the garden today.  I saw my year-first Pine Siskins first thing this morning, which was fun.  They are winter finches and I wasn't sure I'd see any as they head north to breed about now.  We also had House Finches, goldfinches, and purple finches.  Pictured here is a male Purple Finch (he should really  be called a Raspberry Finch, don't you think?) and a molting male Goldfinch.  In another month, the purple finch will be gone to it's northern breeding grounds and the goldfinch will be a brilliant lemony yellow.  Spring...gotta love it.

Things are already starting to pop up in my garden.  The first of the daffodils opened today, and the bee balm, phlox, and hyacinth are all poking their heads out of the ground.  Even the honeysuckle is starting to push out some new leaves.  Can you hear me sighing with pleasure?

Thank you so very much for the comments, stars and hearts on yesterday's bears.  It was such a treat to see a cub that small - I think it is the smallest one I've ever seen.  And for those of you who were concerned about danger - we were all very mindful of watching Mama to make sure that our presence wasn't causing her any stress.  The fact that she let the little one out while we were there was a good sign of her comfort.  It helped that none of our group tried to approach the tree she was sitting in, nor did anyone do anything that might cause her to become agitated.  We all enjoyed the scene with binoculars and long lenses and then we moved on.  

I'm planning to meet up with a friend tomorrow morning for a little birding/photography.  I haven't seen him in over a year, so we'll have much to catch up on, I'm sure.  

And, five more sleeps until the big Blipmeet in Savannah!  Woohoo!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.