Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Overheard at the Park...

"Honestly, Hank, if you don't stop with the damned singing, I'm going to throw myself back into the mud!"

Had to go with the funny shot today.  The red-winged blackbird was foraging along a log in the shallow water, where several painted turtles were out sunning.  Every so often the blackbird would burst into song, at which point the nearest turtle would turn its head away.  It just made me laugh.  Because of the focal plain, it was only possible to focus on one subject - I decided on this one with the focus on the turtle.  

It was a good walk with my friend, John, this morning.  Hadn't seen him in over a year, so we got caught up on life while we walked and snapped.  Notable sights were a pair of Northern Flickers , a red-tailed hawk, several bluebirds, and the first Louisiana Waterthrush of the season.  I'd have posted the waterthrush if I'd been able to get even a single moderately decent shot.  But, I'm happy with today's choice.  I like both turtles and blackbirds - and both are indelibly linked to spring in NJ in my mind.

Tomorrow is supposed to be rainy so I will probably stay in much of the day.  I have a lot of paperwork I need to get caught up on, so it's all good.

The backyard continues to be full of finches with even more purple finches and goldfinches today.  I was out just a little while ago, pottering around in the garden and it sounded like a full orchestra was in session in the trees above me - such singing!  The finches all have lovely songs and to hear them all together was pretty special.  

Four more sleeps until Savannah!  Weather forecast looks bleak, but I'm sure we'll manage to work around it.  

Toodles...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.