Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Peppermill

Sunday was a day of choices: 

Choice no. 1 - Go to church or travel down to Palmerston Park? If the service had been in my own church with its 10.15am start, then I could have done both. However, we had a joint church service with all five Church of Scotland congregations and that didn't start until 11.15am, making it a bit of a rush to get to Dumfries once it had ended. Choice no. 1 - church.

Choice no. 2 - stay at home and watch Manchester United play City on the TV, having already watched Hibs v Hearts, or go for a walk in the sun? No contest - go for a walk.

Choices no. 3 to whatever - which paths to take through Devilla Forest? I had decided that I would walk up towards Peppermill Dam and maybe take a few photos there. Thankfully, I had been here before and knew the general direction, plus an OS-type map on my phone - the Ordnance Survey had stopped the developers using the OS name, but it was based on their data - just in case I wanted to check.

The afternoon sun made for some good 'sunshine & shadows' shots (alliteration entirely accidental!) through the forest but, not long after I had arrived at the Dam, disappeared behind a large bank of cloud and beat my plans around the head. Managed to take a handful of pictures before the light turned to mush.

In the end my decisions were vindicated. Queen of the South beat Falkirk 1-0 and ended the Bairns' play-off hopes (so glad I missed that!), I had a very pleasant walk in the Fife countryside and I found my way from car to dam and back again by a different route without too much recourse to a map.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.