Settle......d for this

I'vehad an adventure today!

Hub went into Manchester to meet up with two ex work colleagues for lunch, so for once, I had an entire day to myself :-) so I decided to take myself off somewhere with my camera!

After I'd dropped hub at Wigan station I headed North and then East and ventured over the border into Yorkshire ;-) Last time I drove this route I was on my way to Austwick for a Blip meet with the lovely Lovelupins17 https://www.blipfoto.com/lovelupins17. I had made a mental note as I drove past the signs for Settle, having read about the Settle Carlisle Railway trip, that it was somewhere to come back to........so it became my destination today.

It was about an hour and quarters drive, in pleasant sunshine, and once I'd left the M6 and M65 behind there was very little traffic, so I could take my time and enjoy the drive.

Settle is a very pretty little place. I enjoyed just wandering around, snapping this and that. I found the railway station........it was like stepping back in time, so well looked after, old lamps and flowers, waiting rooms, and ticket office, signal box and bridge over the track all painted maroon and cream; it was surprisingly busy; there was obviously a train due! Pity the steam engine trips haven't started to run just yet, that would have been the icing on the cake! I chose to share this shot with you as it gives you a feel for this quaint place!

I had a wander up the high street, walked around the church, outside and in, which is quite lovely. Then treated myself to a bowl of tomato and lentil soup with a cheese celery and apple sandwich in the Owd Naked Man cafe..........didn't see any though ;-) I treated hub to an ecclescake from their Deli too.

The weather clouded up after lunch and it got quite chilly so I went back to,the car and took a drive to the outskirts and stumbled upon the Water Mill and craft shop.....so I had a wander around there for a while, nearly bought some shoes, but resisted!

Hit the road around 2.40 and was back at home by 3.50, so,avoided all the rush hour traffic, and I was back before hub too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.