TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

The Farmer's Revenge

I was running late, driving into town for my French class at U3A, when I glimpsed this in passing and simply had to turn back. I was stunned at first, at the reality of what had happened to this rather beautiful, wild and previously flourishing animal. However, when we raised angora goats we lived in fear of the nightly raids of these savage carnivores during kidding season. Now it is our poultry threatened each night and morning as they do their rounds. They tend to live in the heaps of prunings in the orchards that surround us and become more and more audacious, attacking in daylight hours.
Could I kill a fox? No. The fox is doing what comes naturally, but I can understand the farmer taking his vengeance in this way. I can't work out why it is tied to the road sign. Hardly as a warning to other foxes.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.