In My World

By JoanneInOz

Remembering....

A few years ago I started up a blog in which to record my family history, but a place where more than just names and dates would be recorded, I wanted to add stories, memories, something for my children (and my children's children....)  

What I hadn't realised when I began the project was how exhausting it would be. Emotionally. 

Remembering details of people who have long since left the earth can bring a tear to your eye, then there's the need to go through old photos, bringing back memories of "remember when..."

I added a story today to my blog about my grandmother, and whilst searching through my dad's stuff for a few details I needed to record about his mother I came across a brooch, from Whitley Bay, England. And the discovery of the brooch brought back a memory from my early days on blip, nearly three years ago....

One day, I had in mind to take a photo of a brooch that my mum had bought during a trip to Whitley Bay, after seeing a photo added by RichieBoo, of Whitley Bay lighthouse. I didn't find the brooch back then, but I did come across a set of postcards, sent by my dad, to my mum, during WWII, one of which I added to my journal.

When RichieBoo saw the postcard, he went back to Whitley Bay, and recreated the scene, in 2012, as closely as he could, along the same Promenades, even asking passers by if they would mind posing for him.

That event would have to be my ultimate highlight on blip! And Richie Boo still mentions it every now and then himself. He went to so much trouble for me, and I don't think he will ever fully realise how much seeing the scene recreated meant to me. He's such a sweet man.

So, the brooch never did get blipped, and today, there it was waiting ~ a blip long overdue. :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.