CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Four cranes flying above the River Severn

After a doctor's appointment over in Gloucester, I went to do some shopping for tofu and other goodies.  The sun was shining brightly and I couldn't resist a jaunt to take some pictures.  I crossed over the Sharpness canal at the outskirts of the city and walked down the towpath for a few hundred yards with the vague hope of seeing a kingfisher there once again.  No such luck, but it got me in the mood for listening to the chatter of the birds and watching the ripples of the wind on the water with an occasional barge floating past.

But I was restless for wider spaces, so drove on a couple of more miles to the banks of the River Severn near Longney, which is a regular haunt of ours.  I parked about a hundred yards from the river and walked to the Severn Way, the path that follows the northern side of the river running along the man-made embankment built to prevent flooding.

I reached a place where the reeds were clear and I could sit on the grassy bank contemplating the views of the river, the sounds of wind on the water and bird of many shapes and sizes.  I could hear skylarks, gulls, buzzards and even saw a kestrel hovering as well as several swallows, all of which gave me great pleasure.

But the biggest buzz was when I turned for home and suddenly was aware of something happening right above me.  I looked up to see these four cranes flying along the line of the river Severn and heading downstream. I started snapping immediately and followed them as they passed in front of the sun before turning to head north east over the fields towards a church in a nearby hamlet.  After flying over a bright yellow rape seed field they turned back again and circled round over me  before eventually heading off towards the north.  

What a great sight as they were relatively low and close to me.  I am sure they had come from the Wildlife and Wetlands Centre at Slimbridge, which is only about five miles to the south.  There is a Great Crane Project there which is aiming to encourage the breeding of cranes in the wild so that they become re-established in Britain once again.  I have sent some of the pictures to the Trust, of which Helena and I are members as they ask for people to report any sightings of cranes in the wild.  I won't forget this special day with so many delights in such a short space of time down by the river.  I always count my blessings for being able to visit this area and experience these wild places, yet which are so close to home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.