Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Spider

I'm short of time to give it a positive ID but I believe this may be a Green Orb Weaver Spider, with the reddest head I've ever seen on one! They vary in colours, mostly green with orange or a reddish head but all have a red dot near their spinners, which this one certainly does. I did try to get a photo of it's underside but it was way too out of focus.  It's tiny and was hanging in the last rays of sunlight on the box hedge by Silent Pool. Without a tripod it wasn't easy to focus on but it was too late to walk back home to get it.  Maybe it'll be there tomorrow evening.  

What a super day it's been.  So warm but, still that irritating breeze.  I was invited out to lunch and it seemed almost a shame to sit indoors.. probably for the best as my face has caught a bit too much sun.  

Helga is giving signs that she might be going into labour.  The lamb, or lambs are kicking hard in her belly. Poor girl is quite exhausted in the heat but... it would be good to blip a little black lamb tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.