Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Araucana Chickens

It's been a long while since I blipped my chickens.  I shamefully admit to have been somewhat disheartened with them. I don't like having to keep them cooped up in a run however large but, I daren't let them run free. It's almost a year since the fox attacks.  The two Wyandotte hens are still quivering wrecks, have never laid an egg since and barely leave the darkness of the hen house. One of them has a grotesque lump of a blind eye from the bite she received but is alive. 

Of course the fox took only the best hens and the fabulous Wyandotte cockerel.  

This Araucana hen has brought back a lot of love now that shes laying her little blue eggs again.  I'm hoping I can convince the breeder to give me some more hens without insisting I take yet another cockerel, of which I have three Araucanas.  It has been suggested they could go in the pot but, I have some feelings for them, having nursed them back to health from the atrocious wounds the fox inflicted. 

The Arucanas are really tough nuts and pretty birds.  I've given up trying to get them to go into the hen house at night. Believe me, I tried night after night for weeks, only to find that they all migrated back on the roof in the pitch black.  Seeing them, huddled together during a gale, in the pelting rain and even covered in snow, yet totally unphased by the weather, makes them rather special.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.