Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

A Faraway Tree

Blipping past midnight, this is going to be quick!

One of the oldest and most wonderful Beech trees I know of in the area is slowly dying. The Ganoderma polypore fungus that James was considering using as a stepladder up the tree are the sure sign of that. You can see the scar from where an enormous branch has recently broken, the third major limb to go in a very short while. 

The dimensions of this tree are so vast I've never been able to photograph it in one shot.  I've seen people getting married under it. colourful pagan rituals and on mornings after illegal raves I've seen many of the branches decorated with clothes and hungover humans. I've never found out how they got up, or have waited to see how they got down.

Most of the day has been fairly low key, eyes much better and I've made a start on the photos from yesterdays trip.  It was James birthday and I fully expected to be alone this evening but he and his girlfriend, Fran, elected to chill out in front of the television, with a Chinese takeaway. Life gets so serious when you turn 23! 



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.