Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Leeds Castle

Oh wow! What a day.  The road to Kent was scarcely visible for the rain. The road home, scarcely visible for the sun.  

I'd arranged for the Meetup photographic group to go to Leeds Castle. There we met with fellow blipper Lala, who we can't thank enough. She made our day, getting soaked in the pouring rain to greet us and gave us the most wonderful tour of the castle,  She's such a lovely person, a font of knowledge and and I just hope one day she'll come over to this neck of the woods so we can give her a grande tour in our locality. Thank you, Lala! 

Having initially tried to drown ourselves and camera equipment, a coffee and an early snack were time enough to bring the sun out.  In avoidance of the last black clouds, we opted to go into the castle first. I now know why they call it 'The Lovliest Castle in the World. I might just move in tomorrow!  As I was leaving I overheard a conversation in the ladies that went along the lines of ' I only came because I was made to, but it really was worthwhile. Do you think we can come again?'  
Oh yes, it sure is beautiful!

Photography wise, I took far to many photos, mostly guessing as my eyes were rather sore after a bad air day yesterday.  There was so much to record and I'd probably have still been around at closing time had my back up battery been fully charged!.  Castle, gardens, maze, landscapes and birds galore.  I've opted for this photo of an Eagle Owl, taken during a flying display. The wind was strong and I know how difficult it is to fly birds in adverse conditions.  This was taken as it came in to land for a treat, the wind catching it's wing and almost blowing it backwards.  It's not a classic flying shot, of which I did get a few, but it did sum up the conditions.  

Bright sun in my already sore eyes made the trip home interesting. I did take it slowly! The contact lenses came out as soon as I found my glasses but, blip done, they now need some rest from bight screens,  I may add a note or two tomorrow.

Some days are priceless, and you meet priceless people.  Today was one of those.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.